top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaisy St. James

Experiencing my first Divorce . . .

When I first began self-publishing in early 2017, I was a lone flower in a field of fragrant bouquets that had already established themselves in the writing community. It was overwhelming and intimidating and I quickly found myself wondering if perhaps creating a facebook account under my then pen name, Mona Moore, had been the brightest idea I'd ever had.


I was floundering.


Eventually, I met a small crew of women/authors that I would soon thereafter call my friends. They were all unique. They were all talented. They were my Kindred Spirits!


Karin, Christine, Martha, Kate, Cindee, etc. You made my transition into the writing community as easy as pie and I love you all!


Then one day, I met a really interesting and vibrant author by the name of Nicole Strycharz. Nicole is in a class all of her own. She's funny, bright, introspective and super friendly to everyone she meets. She read my first short novel, Breaking In and messaged me in this wild tirade about how much she LOVED Blake & Allison and that she needed, and I quote, "the second book, like NOW!" Myself, being who I am, didn't believe a goddamn word she said about my writing. I thought, this woman has got to be drinking the Kool-Aid because there is no way my writing is as good as she says it is. She wanted more? Couldn't have been possible!


So, I decided to pick up one of her books, The Divorce (you can purchase a copy of it here (trust me, you'll want to!): https://www.amazon.com/Divorce-Relationship-Quo-Book-ebook/dp/B01FYR0DZU).




Needless to say, after reading this book, I knew she had to be flatout lying about my writing abilities because she is an INCREDIBLE author. No author who writes as well as she does would think so, but she did and still does--and I love her for it <3.


Without further ado, here is my original Five Star Review of The Divorce by Nicole Strycharz, the first book from The Relationship Quo Series (since Amazon.com decided so tactlessly to remove it from their site for reasons that still remain unknown to me):


" When I started reading The Divorce, it came at a time in my life that had me feeling particularly sensitive. Jenzy is me. Everything she stands for, everything she does or says....is me. I related to her in a way that I don't think I ever have with other characters. And Chris, despite being the biggest jerk ever, don't we all want a Chris?

This story was like eating a piece of cake that's far too rich. You take the first bite and you're in heaven, the second bite is just as good, but by the third and fourth bite your throat is aching and your teeth are quivering from the sugary sweet richness that it's almost unbearable to take another bite! But I'm the fat kid who loves cake....so I stuff the entire thing in my mouth and go to town! This book was just like that.

It's 2am and I'm going to need ice packs on my eyes in the morning because I haven't been able to stop crying. For me, that's the calling card of an incredible author.

Fantastic story, believable, relatable characters and ALL the feels. If I could give it one million shiny gold stars I would. *standing O*.

Bravo"


I'm not even kidding people. I UGLY cried. In bed. Laying next to my husband. My wracking sobs moving the mattress with such force I'm surprised it didn't wake my husband up! This book was THAT good. I've read it another time since then and it just gets better and better!


Now, recently, I purchased an anthology that Ms. Strycharz is a part of called Dark Waters and her story is called She Comes with the Tide. It's a Mermaid Anthology people. Freakin' Mermaids. It doesn't get much better than that! It also includes stories by authors Alexia Purdy, Jessica Ozment, Stephanie Jolicoeur, and Marsha Black, BUT--I bought it for Nicole Strycharz and this is why:







(You can purchace your copy right here: https://www.amazon.com/Dark-Waters-Anthology-Jessica-Ozment-ebook/dp/B07DMJLWG9).


If you haven't already become acquainted with Ms. Strycharz writing, I must insist you do, because quite frankly, no one writes EMOTION quite as well as she does!


Initially, I wasn't planning on writing another blog so soon after the first one, but I was talking to a friend last night about some good reads and Nicole's name came up. I gushed like a crazed fan for about an hour before I told myself I should put it all in a blog, so here it is.


Go forth and spend your money on a book that will leave a lasting impression! I suggest you begin with The Divorce and move through The Relationship Quo Series with caution as it may cause ALL THE FEELS. I myself will be settling in with Dark Waters as soon as this blog goes up. Nothing screams summer and poolside like MERMAIDS!


Keep reading.

Stay beautiful.

Be bold!


Daisy xo




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page