top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaisy St. James

It's a bird, it's a plane, it's Superman!

When I was growing up, I was obsessed with the Superman franchise. Something in my youthful mind thought there was something so special about the ideal that surrounded the idea of Superman.


Christopher Reeves with his piercing blue eyes and chiseled jaw, and the chemistry between he and Margot Kidder--I mean, come on people--that shit was palpable. Even in my young mind, I knew that there was something THERE. My stomach did flip-flops, my heart raced. To this day, the theme song for Superman literally chokes me up. The hair on my arms stand and my throat constricts with this oddly poignant emotion that I can't explain.

Superman was, and is, my jam.


Lois and Clark was one of my favorite shows growing up. I followed a young Clark Kent on his journey on Smallville. Never missed an episode. I even loved Superman Returns, the 2006 atrocity that everyone condemned. Still, I could not turn my back on my favorite superhero of all time.


And then--oh, then--in 2013, as I was cleaning my house while my babies took a nap with the television humming softly in the background, I heard something that made the hair on my arms stand in that familiar way. My heart began to race and my throat tightened, tears of what I can only describe as pure joy stung my eyes.


It was the Superman theme song and I turned around just in time to spot--you guessed it--Henry Cavill, in all his glory. I grabbed the remote and rewound it to the beginning and watched it again, and then again. The thrill that shot through me was nothing short of breathtaking.


Man of Steel, indeed.



Now, I'm going to say something here that I don't say lightly, but aside from my husband, who I love more than life itself, Henry Cavill is as damn near to fucking perfection that it's ever going to get.



This man, though. Those eyes. Thank one eye with the faintest speck of brown--charming. That dimpled chin--biteable. The grecian slope of his nose--Lord in Heaven. But do I ever love me some Henry Cavill, and he is the perfect Superman. Christopher Reeves would be proud I think.

So my question, after this long-winded post, and all the gushing I've done over Mr. Cavill and his every inch of perfection is:



What superhero does it for? Inquiring minds want to know!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page